Solar Contract Checklist — Dallas
What it should state. What's commonly not stated. What to ask before you sign.
You're about to sign a solar contract in the Dallas area. This page lists what a complete one states, the lines that are commonly not stated, and the questions worth asking before your name goes on it.
This is a reading checklist, not advice. Spend Defense doesn't tell you whether to sign — we make sure you've actually seen what's on the page, and what isn't.
What a complete solar contract states
The deal type — purchase, loan, lease, or PPA (power purchase agreement). These are four different commitments; the contract should make clear which one this is.
System size and equipment — panel count, system size in kilowatts (kW), and panel/inverter brands and models.
Total price and payment structure — the full amount, how it's paid, and whether payments change over time.
Production estimate, labeled — the expected yearly output (kWh) and whether that figure is an estimate or a committed minimum.
Escalator clause — for leases and PPAs: whether the rate rises each year, by what percentage, and for how many years.
Tax credit terms — who claims the federal tax credit, and what happens to your price or payment if the credit isn't received as expected.
Roof terms — who warrants the roof penetrations, for how long, and who pays to remove/reinstall panels if the roof needs work.
Transfer terms — what happens to the contract if you sell the house: buyout, transfer to the buyer, or both.
Cancellation window — the exact dates of your right to cancel after signing, stated in the document.
What's commonly not stated
- Total cost over the full term — a monthly payment is stated; the sum of 20–25 years of payments usually has to be added up yourself.
- Production is usually an estimate, not a promise — the bill figures in the presentation rarely appear as commitments in the contract.
- What the escalator does over time — a 2.9% yearly increase nearly doubles a payment across a 25-year term; the contract states the rate, not the result.
- Battery, monitoring, and maintenance — whether they're included, separate, or not mentioned at all.
- Utility interconnection and net-metering terms — your contract with the solar company doesn't control what your utility pays you for excess power, and it usually says so only in fine print.
- Permit and license details for Dallas-area solar installs — whether this job needs a permit depends on the scope and on the city or county it's in, so the quote should say whether one is needed, who pulls it, and whether it's in the total. Licensing for this work is set by Texas and local agencies; ask for the license information on the document and look it up yourself with the issuing agency.
None of these gaps decide anything by themselves. They're the lines to ask about before you sign, not after.
Questions to ask before you sign
- “Ask your Dallas solar company: is this a purchase, a loan, a lease, or a PPA — and where does the contract say that?”
- “What is the total of every payment over the full term?”
- “Is the production figure a commitment or an estimate? Where is that written?”
- “Does my payment increase each year? By how much, and for how long?”
- “Who claims the tax credit — and what changes if it doesn't come through?”
- “If I sell the house, what are my options, in writing?”
Want a second set of eyes on the actual document?
Send us the paperwork before you sign. A Quick Check reads your document and shows you what it says, what's not stated, and what to ask — for $4.99 (up to 10 pages). Longer documents: Document Review $19, Premium Review $49.
Check my document →We don't decide for you. We make sure nothing on the page — or missing from it — surprises you later.
FAQ
How much should a solar system cost in the Dallas area?
We don't price other people's systems — cost depends on system size, your roof, your utility's rules, and which of the four deal types you're signing. What you can verify on the page: the total price or the total of all payments, whether production is estimated or committed, and whether your payment rises each year.
What if something on this checklist is missing from my solar contract?
Ask for it in writing before you sign. Solar contracts run 20–25 years, so an unstated term — an escalator, a transfer rule, a tax-credit fallback — stays with you a long time. A missing line is a question, not a verdict; get it answered on the page.
Can Spend Defense read my actual solar contract?
Yes — solar agreements are often longer than 10 pages, so most go through the Document Review ($19, up to 25 pages) or Premium Review ($49). Send the document and you'll get back what it says, what's not stated, and what to ask before you sign.
Related checklists
Spend Defense — we read the paperwork before you sign. We don't decide for you.