Auto Loan Paperwork Checklist

What it should state. What's commonly not stated. What to ask before you sign.

You're about to sign auto loan paperwork — at the dealer's finance office, a bank, or a credit union. This page lists what complete loan paperwork states, the lines that are commonly not stated, and the questions worth asking before your name goes on it.

This is a reading checklist, not advice. Spend Defense doesn't tell you whether to sign — we make sure you've actually seen what's on the page, and what isn't.

What complete auto loan paperwork states

  • APR — the annual percentage rate, as a number.

  • Term in months — the length of the loan (for example, 60 or 72 months).

  • Monthly payment and first payment date — the amount and the date the first one is due.

  • Total of payments — what you will have paid by the end of the loan, all payments added up.

  • Amount financed — the amount borrowed, which can be compared with the vehicle price on the buyer's order.

  • Products added to the loan — GAP, service contracts, and other products, each listed with its price.

  • Prepayment terms — whether paying the loan off early carries a penalty, stated either way.

  • Late-fee terms — the grace period and the late charge.

  • The lender — who actually holds the loan — which may not be the dealer.

What's commonly not stated

  • What got rolled in — negative equity from a trade or add-on products can raise the amount financed without a line explaining why.
  • Whether products are optional — GAP and service contracts may appear on the paperwork without saying they can be declined.
  • Rate conditions — if the deal is subject to lender approval, what happens if the rate changes is often unstated.
  • Refunds on early payoff — whether add-on products are partly refunded if the loan is paid off early is rarely on the loan page.

None of these gaps decide anything by themselves. They're the lines to ask about before you sign, not after.

Questions to ask before you sign

  1. “What are the APR, the term in months, and the total of payments?”
  2. “Why is the amount financed different from the vehicle price?”
  3. “Which products are added to this loan, and is each one optional?”
  4. “Is there any penalty for paying the loan off early?”
  5. “Is this rate final, or subject to lender approval?”

Want a second set of eyes on the actual document?

Send us the paperwork before you sign. A Quick Check reads your document and shows you what it says, what's not stated, and what to ask — for $4.99 (up to 10 pages). Longer documents: Document Review $19, Premium Review $49.

Check my document →

We don't decide for you. We make sure nothing on the page — or missing from it — surprises you later.

FAQ

How much does an auto loan usually cost?

We don't price other people's loans — the cost depends on your credit, the term length, and the amount financed. What you can check is whether your paperwork states the APR, the term, and the total of payments together. Those three numbers show the full cost; if any is missing, ask before signing.

What if something on this checklist is missing from my auto loan paperwork?

Ask for it in writing before you sign. A missing total of payments or an unexplained amount financed isn't a verdict on the lender; it's an unknown in a contract you'll be paying on for years. Getting it stated costs nothing at the desk and settles it.

Can Spend Defense read my actual auto loan paperwork?

Yes — that's the Quick Check. Send the document and you'll get back what it says, what's not stated, and what to ask, for $4.99 (up to 10 pages). If your loan packet is longer, the Document Review ($19) covers up to 25 pages.

Related checklists

Spend Defense — we read the paperwork before you sign. We don't decide for you.