Personal Loan & Buy-Now-Pay-Later Agreement Checklist

What it should state. What's commonly not stated. What to ask before you sign.

You're about to sign a personal loan or a buy-now-pay-later agreement. This page lists what a complete one states, the lines that are commonly not stated, and the questions worth asking before your name goes on it.

This is a reading checklist, not advice. Spend Defense doesn't tell you whether to sign — we make sure you've actually seen what's on the page, and what isn't.

What a complete loan or BNPL agreement states

  • APR — the annual percentage rate, as a number — even when it is 0%.

  • Total of payments — everything you will pay, not just the installment amount.

  • Payment schedule — the number of payments, amounts, and due dates.

  • Fees — origination or platform fees, and whether they are deducted from the amount you receive.

  • Late fees — the amount, and what one missed payment does to the schedule.

  • Interest type — true 0% or deferred interest — stated plainly.

  • Autopay terms — whether autopay is required and how to change the payment method.

  • Prepayment — whether paying early carries a penalty or saves interest.

What's commonly not stated

  • Deferred interest vs. 0% — the same headline can mean very different math; with deferred interest, back interest can apply if the balance isn't paid in time.
  • Fees taken from proceeds — an origination fee can reduce what you receive without changing what you owe.
  • Missed-payment effects — a missed payment may end a promotional rate or trigger multiple fees.
  • Credit reporting — whether payments are reported to credit bureaus is often left unsaid.

None of these gaps decide anything by themselves. They're the lines to ask about before you sign, not after.

Questions to ask before you sign

  1. “What is the APR, and what is the total of all payments?”
  2. “Is this true 0% interest or deferred interest?”
  3. “Are any fees taken out of the amount I receive?”
  4. “What happens if I miss one payment?”
  5. “Can I pay early without a penalty?”

Want a second set of eyes on the actual document?

Send us the paperwork before you sign. A Quick Check reads your document and shows you what it says, what's not stated, and what to ask — for $4.99 (up to 10 pages). Longer documents: Document Review $19, Premium Review $49.

Check my document →

We don't decide for you. We make sure nothing on the page — or missing from it — surprises you later.

FAQ

How much does a personal loan or BNPL plan usually cost?

We don't price other people's loans — cost depends on the APR, fees, term, and your credit. What you can check is whether your agreement states the APR, the total of payments, the fees, and whether interest is deferred. Those numbers show the full cost; if any is missing, ask before signing.

What if something on this checklist is missing from my agreement?

Ask for it in writing before you agree. A missing total of payments or interest-type line isn't a verdict on the lender; it's an unknown in a contract you're about to be bound by. Getting it stated costs nothing and settles it before the first payment.

Can Spend Defense read my actual loan or BNPL agreement?

Yes — that's the Quick Check. Send the document and you'll get back what it says, what's not stated, and what to ask, for $4.99 (up to 10 pages). Longer loan agreements go through the Document Review ($19, up to 25 pages).

Related checklists

Spend Defense — we read the paperwork before you sign. We don't decide for you.