Dental Treatment Plan Estimate Checklist

What it should state. What's commonly not stated. What to ask before you sign.

You're about to sign a dental treatment plan estimate — for implants, crowns, orthodontics, or other work. This page lists what a complete one states, the lines that are commonly not stated, and the questions worth asking before your name goes on it.

This is a reading checklist, not advice. Spend Defense doesn't tell you whether to sign — we make sure you've actually seen what's on the page, and what isn't.

What a complete treatment plan estimate states

  • Each procedure, coded — every procedure with its procedure code and its own price, not one bundle number.

  • Tooth numbers — which teeth each procedure applies to.

  • Insurance estimate, labeled — the estimated insurance payment, marked as an estimate.

  • Your share — your estimated out-of-pocket amount, and what happens if insurance pays less.

  • Related costs — imaging, lab fees, sedation, and follow-up visits — included or separate.

  • Phases and timing — the order of treatment and when each payment is due.

  • Expiration date — how long the quoted fees are valid.

  • Financing terms — if offered: term, APR, and the name of the lender.

What's commonly not stated

  • Insurance shortfall — if insurance pays less than estimated, the plan may not say who covers the difference.
  • Lab and imaging fees — these can be billed separately without appearing on the plan.
  • Financing as a separate contract — a payment plan may be a loan from a third-party lender with its own terms.
  • Annual maximums — insurance annual maximums can cap coverage on multi-phase work; the plan seldom shows that math.

None of these gaps decide anything by themselves. They're the lines to ask about before you sign, not after.

Questions to ask before you sign

  1. “Can I see each procedure listed with its code and price?”
  2. “If insurance pays less than estimated, what do I owe?”
  3. “Are lab fees, imaging, and follow-up visits included?”
  4. “How long are these fees valid?”
  5. “If I finance, who is the lender and what are the APR and term?”

Want a second set of eyes on the actual document?

Send us the paperwork before you sign. A Quick Check reads your document and shows you what it says, what's not stated, and what to ask — for $4.99 (up to 10 pages). Longer documents: Document Review $19, Premium Review $49.

Check my document →

We don't decide for you. We make sure nothing on the page — or missing from it — surprises you later.

FAQ

How much does dental treatment usually cost?

We don't price other people's work — cost depends on the procedures, materials, your insurance, and the practice. What you can check is whether your plan lists each procedure with its own price, labels the insurance figure as an estimate, and states your share. If it doesn't, ask before signing.

What if something on this checklist is missing from my treatment plan?

Ask the office in writing before you sign. A missing lab fee or insurance-shortfall answer isn't a verdict on the practice; it's an unknown in a plan you'll pay for in phases. Getting it stated on the page costs nothing and settles it before treatment starts.

Can Spend Defense read my actual treatment plan?

Yes — that's the Quick Check. Send the document and you'll get back what it says, what's not stated, and what to ask, for $4.99 (up to 10 pages). We read the paperwork only — not your clinical care, which stays between you and your dentist.

Related checklists

Spend Defense — we read the paperwork before you sign. We don't decide for you.