Appliance Purchase & Installation Agreement Checklist
What it should state. What's commonly not stated. What to ask before you sign.
You're about to sign for an appliance purchase with delivery and installation. This page lists what a complete agreement states, the lines that are commonly not stated, and the questions worth asking before your name goes on it.
This is a reading checklist, not advice. Spend Defense doesn't tell you whether to sign — we make sure you've actually seen what's on the page, and what isn't.
What a complete appliance agreement states
Appliance by model — brand, model number, and color/finish.
Price breakdown — appliance price, delivery, installation, haul-away, and parts (hoses, cords, kits), each listed.
Installation prerequisites — shutoffs, outlets, venting, and gas lines — whose responsibility each is.
Delivery date and window — the scheduled date and time window.
Damage reporting window — how many hours or days you have to report delivery damage.
Returns — the return window and any restocking fee.
Protection plan terms — if purchased: term, deductible per claim, and who services it.
What's commonly not stated
- Damage reporting deadline — often 48 hours or so, and rarely said aloud at delivery.
- What "installation" includes — connecting to existing hookups may be included; modifying cabinets, gas, or electrical may not.
- Haul-away conditions — old appliances may need to be disconnected before the crew will take them.
- Who services the protection plan — the store, the manufacturer, or a third party — often unclear.
None of these gaps decide anything by themselves. They're the lines to ask about before you sign, not after.
Questions to ask before you sign
- “What exactly does installation include, and what would cost extra?”
- “Is haul-away of the old appliance included, and does it need to be disconnected first?”
- “How long do I have to report delivery damage?”
- “What is the return window, and is there a restocking fee?”
- “If I buy the protection plan, who services it and what is the deductible?”
Want a second set of eyes on the actual document?
Send us the paperwork before you sign. A Quick Check reads your document and shows you what it says, what's not stated, and what to ask — for $4.99 (up to 10 pages). Longer documents: Document Review $19, Premium Review $49.
Check my document →We don't decide for you. We make sure nothing on the page — or missing from it — surprises you later.
FAQ
How much does appliance installation usually cost?
We don't price other people's work — cost depends on the appliance, existing hookups, and any modifications needed. What you can check is whether your agreement lists delivery, installation, haul-away, and parts as separate lines, and states the damage-reporting window. If it doesn't, ask before signing.
What if something on this checklist is missing from my appliance agreement?
Ask for it in writing before you sign. A missing installation scope or return term isn't a verdict on the store; it's an unknown in an agreement you're about to be bound by. Getting it stated costs nothing and settles it before delivery day.
Can Spend Defense read my actual appliance agreement?
Yes — that's the Quick Check. Send the document and you'll get back what it says, what's not stated, and what to ask, for $4.99 (up to 10 pages). Most sales and installation agreements are a few pages, well within that limit.
Related checklists
- Home Warranty Plan Checklist
- Water Softener & Filtration Purchase Checklist
- Personal Loan & Buy-Now-Pay-Later Agreement Checklist
Spend Defense — we read the paperwork before you sign. We don't decide for you.